Skip to content

Is it narcissistic if I “like” my own posts?

August 24, 2010

There is no question that the “like” phenomena has come from the depths of stupidity that is facebook. Sure, it existed before in forums and certain blogging widgets, such as the thumbs up/down thing, but facebook pretty much brought it to the masses.

This button has now permeated into Blogging in the facebook format due to its popularity. Every single time I write something I feel the urge to hit that button. But isn’t that a little redundant? Obviously I like whatever the hell it is that has spewed forth from my villainous mouth (or fingers in this case) otherwise I wouldn’t have said it! No?

There I go with the questions again!

The “like” button is supposed to be a metric of worth however with people just pressing randomly to promote blog traffic or garner support the like button has become a little redundant. As an example, I’ll like my own post and you’ll see my picture at the bottom, which is linked to my profile. Instant advert, so how can it be a metric of worth when it’s being exploited so?

I know this is old news, I’m not trying to rehash anything or generate new controversy, I’m just thinking how narcissistic I am every single time I hit the publish button, go and preview my post and there it is, taunting me. Go on, you know you want to press it. But as soon as I do, it comes up with my head and blamo! Instant self loathing. Like I don’t get enough of that from the mirror already!

Jerks.

Update: There I am at the bottom, I guess it just goes to shatter the aloof image of myself as a writer, like I don’t care what anyone thinks, I like my own stuff and that’s all that matters!

Yeah right!

From → Blogging

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

