Skip to content

Klikwerk: Get hooked on the click melody!

September 22, 2010

So I’ve been meaning to throw up a few musical games on the blog, they are a definite favourite of mine, but am unsure whether they deserve a category all of their own. This is because some these game work as fantastic games by themselves, while others are simply an interactive way of enjoying songs.

After much coffee drinking, speculation and apprehension, I’ve decided to create a category of their own. If you disagree with this, please feel free to leave a comment directly on my page right here.

And so with that out of the way we turn to our very first foray and dissertation into klikwerk a brilliant game that doesn’t just replay a song, well actually it does, but the song is created around the motions you must carry out to get points. Basically, you have to point, click, drag and drop and press space when the game tells you to do so. By doing it fast, you get lots of spanky points.

At 30,000 there is an extra level, but I’ve never managed to reach it because I tend to suck with the co-ordination. Yet I keep trying over and over again. It’s not like the melody changes, I should know it well enough by now!

This got me thinking about why I’m so keen to keep trying, is it the infectious beat, is it the simplicity of the game or the challenge of being so close to that 30,000 mark and yet so far away from it at the same time.

Perhaps this 30,000 milestone represents my dreams and aspirations. I began thinking that maybe there is no possible way to get 30,000 points as it may require a perfect score, which I think is theoretically impossible or at least beyond my retarded abilities. So why give the player a goal of such unobtainable intensity? Does the creator have a penchant for masochism? Looking at some of his other games, I began to believe he did. So I email him a list of questions. Below is a transcript:

Dear Sir,

I am very much interested in your game klikwerk. I’ve played it numerous times. Yet, I find myself unable to attain the desired 30,000 point required marker in order to proceed to the mythical bonus stage. Does this stage even exist? Has anyone reached it before? Is there a code or something to help people who are coordinationally challenged? If so could you please tell me this code. If it doesn’t exist, could you please update the game and make one.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the game, so much so I featured it on my blog, but still I find myself much akin to a wheelchair bound Vietnam veteran outside a diner in the rain because the diner doesn’t have wheelchair access. I’ve spent my time in Nam (for this metaphor, Vietnam represents your game, I’m not saying it’s bad, but rather an arduous task perhaps beyond winning, much like Nam was for America, yet I still enjoyed myself somewhat burning villagers with napalm, I mean clicking on your game).

Anyway, great game but seriously, is there a 30,000 bonus stage or are you just messing with me. I’ve invested too much time to abandon it, so there had better be one or else.

Although, that being said, I cannot find the energy or enthusiasm to really carry through with that empty threat or even create some sort of credible threat. But you should still perhaps pretend it was real and make that bonus level anyway.

-Your in good faith
Thomas

So I am probably going to get banned again for abusing game creators. In case you want to try the game out for yourself find it ready to go right here. But be careful, the dream of that bonus level will be snatched away by reality.

Evil nefarious reality.

From → Music

2 Comments
  1. I never got your mail Thomas, but yes there really is a bonus level and you don’t even need a perfect score to reach it, so come on, give it one more try 🙂
    Cheers!

  2. Haha, yeah I wont stop until I make it! The failure haunts my dreams now!

Leave a Reply

